63 F
Los Angeles

Nominees named for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Subscribe to our Insider

As the second half of the NFL season begins to take shape, 32 of the brightest and talented players from around the league have been selected as nominees for the sixth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Each NFL team nominated one of their players for the honor, which recognizes players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field. Including qualities such as fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The award was created in 2014 in the memory of Pittsburgh Steelers founding owner and Pro Football Hall of Famer, Art Rooney, Sr.

“Art Rooney is an iconic figure in NFL history,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell at the time the award was introduced. “It is appropriate that we honor his legacy in this way and recognize NFL players for one of the important values that Mr. Rooney represented so well.”

Rogerl Goodell, NFL

Here is a list of the past recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award:

2018 QB Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

2017 LB Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers

2016 RB Frank Gore, Indianapolis Colts

2015 CB Charles Woodson, Oakland Raiders

2016 WR Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona Cardinals

Of the 32 nominees that were recommended for the award for 2019, only eight will be named as finalist for the award (four in the AFC and four in the NFC). That process will be made by a panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community: Warrick Dunn, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The finalist will be placed on the pro bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players are allowed to vote on Friday, Dec. 13. The winner of the prestigious award will be determined by the finalists’ peers that are currently playing in the NFL. Each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. Yet, a team cannot vote for its own player.

2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees

Arizona Cardinals  C A.Q. Shipley

Atlanta Falcons  WR Julio Jones

Baltimore Ravens  QB Lamar Jackson

Buffalo Bills  LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers  RB Christian McCaffrey

Chicago Bears   DB Kyle Fuller

Cincinnati Bengals  DE Sam Hubbard

Cleveland Browns  RB Nick Chubb

Dallas Cowboys  CB Byron Jones

Denver Broncos  LB Von Miller

Detroit Lions  QB Matthew Stafford

Green Bay Packers  CB Tramon Williams

Houston Texans  QB Deshaun Watson

Indianapolis Colts  WR T.Y. Hilton

Jacksonville Jaguars  DL Calais Campbell

Kansas City Chiefs  QB Patrick Mahomes

Los Angeles Chargers  LB Thomas Davis Sr.

Los Angeles Rams  S Eric Weddle

Miami Dolphins  C Daniel Kilgore

Minnesota Vikings  DE Danielle Hunter

New England Patriots  WR Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints   T Terron Armstead

New York Giants  DL Dalvin Tomlinson

New York Jets  DL Steve McLendon

Oakland Raiders  QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles  QB Carson Wentz

Pittsburgh Steelers   RB James Conner

San Francisco 49ers  T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks  LB K.J. Wright

Tampa Bay Buccaneers  LB Lavonte David

Tennessee Titans  C Ben Jones

Washington Redskins  RB Adrian Peterson

Unfortunately, there can only be one recipient of the award. That will be announced during the NFL Honors show, one night before Super Bowl LIV. The player will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Additionally, the winner will receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

Subscribe to our Insider

━ more like this

Grayson Murray’s Untimely Death: A PGA Tour Star Remembered

The world of professional golf is mourning the loss of a shining talent with the tragic news that Grayson Murray, a two-time PGA Tour...

Sipping Elegance at the Fuil Wines Red Carpet Unveiling

Walking into the grand unveiling of Fuil Wines' latest masterpiece, my senses were immediately engulfed in an ambiance that promised an evening of elegance,...

Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs Seen Assaulting Cassie Ventura in 2016 Video

In a world constantly under the scrutiny of public eyes, celebrities often find their darkest moments illuminated for all to see. The recent surveillance...

Looming Decisions Hover Over Cavs’ Offseason

As the Cleveland Cavaliers season came to an end after losing to the Boston Celtics 3-1 in the Eastern Conference semifinals, all eyes are...

Lakers Fire Darvin Ham: Understanding the Timing and Reasons Behind It

The Los Angeles Lakers have parted ways with head coach Darvin Ham after this year's playoff disappointment. Under Ham's tenure, the Lakers achieved a...