All Star starter maya moore

The WNBA All-Star takes place tomorrow and finally, the starters have been revealed. Captain of one team, Candace Parker selected four other players after conversing with her coach, Sandy Brondello. Together the two came to the conclusion, Chelsea Gray (Los Angeles), Maya Moore (Minnesota), Liz Cambage (Dallas), and Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta) will join Parker to start the game.

The rest of Parker’s team will include, Skylar Diggins-Smith (Dallas), Tina Charles (New York), Jewell Loyd (Seattle), Chiney Ogwumike (Connecticut), Allie Quigley (Chicago), and Rebekkah Brunson (Minnesota). Originally, Nneka Ogwumike was selected to play, however, due to a recent illness, Brunson was selected by league President Lisa Borders to replace Nneka.

On the opposing side, captain Elena Delle Donne and Dan Hughes selected Sylvia Fowles (Minnesota), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix), and both Breanna Stewart and Sue Bird from Seattle to start the game.

They will be joined by Kristi Toliver (Washington), Seimone Augustus (Minnesota), Kayla McBride and A’ja Wilson ( both Las Vegas), as well as DeWanna Bonner and Brittney Griner from Phoenix.

Team Delle Donne will be considered the home team tomorrow after she received the most votes overall, and will be wearing black uniforms. Team Parker will suit up in white uniforms.

Fun facts:

  • With the nod to start, Bird and Taurasi will be starting in their ninth all-star games. Bird is already playing in a historic 11th All-Star game.
  • Three players will be making their first all-star starts: Stewart, Cambage, and Gray.
  • Both Team Delle Donne and Team Parker have a player who is playing in her first career all-star game: Seattle’s Loyd and Las Vegas’ Wilson.
  • This year is the first time teams were picked by players and not the tradition East vs West All-Star game.

All in all, both teams are stacked with players who can do it all and will bring a competitive yet entertaining game to fans on Saturday. The game will tip-off tomorrow and be broadcasted live on ABC on Saturday, July 28, at 3:30 p.m. ET at the Target Center in Minneapolis, MN.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here