65.7 F
Los Angeles

Mike Krzyzewski’s legendary coaching career comes to an end



Subscribe to our Insider

Since 1980, Mike Krzyzewski (or simple Coach K) has been coaching the Duke Blue Devils. Before taking over at Duke, Coach K was the head coach at the Army for five seasons where he compiled an overall record of 73-59. However, it was with the Blue Devils that his name started to turn heads. He touched countless lives of student-athletes and made his name one of the most popular ever in the world of coaching. Even those he recruited — who eventually elected to play elsewhere — know the impact he can make on a life. He has been an inspiration for multiple generations and now it’s time for him to hang it up.

Prior to the 2021-2022 season starting, Coach K announced he would be retiring. Unfortunately, though, the perfect storyline couldn’t be completed with a National Championship for Duke. His Blue Devils fell short to North Carolina 81-77 in the Final Four, ending his career with 1,202 total wins. Despite the loss, he still leaves the game with the most wins ever by a Division I Men’s basketball coach with an overall record of 1,202-368.

In his 42 years of coaching at Duke, he has coached 24 All-Americans including Paolo Banchero, R.J. Barrett, Zion Williamson, Marvin Bagley, J.J. Redick, Jay Williams, Grant Hill, Christian Laettner, and Johnny Dawkins to name a few.

Now with his career over, we tip our hats to Coach K for a career thousands hope to have. His legacy will live on and with associate head coach Jon Scheyer taking over at Duke, we know he will continue to drop nuggets of information he learned from Coach K.

Congratulations Coach K on your career!

List of Coach K’s accomplishments:

Naismith Hall of Fame coach (inducted in 2001)
5x national champion at Duke (6 if they win)
6x-time gold medalist as head Coach of the US Men’s National Team
5x ACC Coach of the Year (1984, 1986, 1997, 1999, 2000)
8x National Coach of the Year (1986, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001)
Basketball Times Coach of the Year (1985-86)
CBS Coach of the Year (1985-86/1999-00)
United Press International Coach of the Year (1985-86)
Naismith Coach of the Year (1988-89/1991-92/1998-99)
NABC Coach of the Year (1990-91)
TSN Coach of the Year (1991-92)
Basketball Times Coach of the Year (1996-97)
NABC Coach of the Year (1998-99)

Rene' Kennedy
Rene' Kennedyhttps://theballout.com
Managing Editor of The Ball Out.

Subscribe to our Insider

━ more like this

How the Nuggets Beat the Lakers: A Game 1 Review

In Game 1 of Western Conference first-round playoff series, the Denver Nuggets defeated the Los Angeles Lakers, 114-103, setting the stage for an electrifying...

Exploring the Incident: Man Sets Himself on Fire at Trump Trial Courthouse

A young man set himself on fire outside courthouse hosting the Trump civil trial in New York, capturing wide attention amid the high-profile proceedings...

Indiana Fever Select Caitlin Clark: Comprehensive Breakdown of WNBA Draft

The Indiana Fever's selection of Caitlin Clark as the No. 1 overall pick in the 2024 WNBA Draft heralds a new era for women's basketball, reflecting strategic team...

Deciphering the Conflict: Iran Attacks Israel, What Next?

Iran's direct military attack against Israel marks a significant escalation, initiating the first direct iran attacks israel in recent history. With over 100 Iranian drones launched toward...

What Went Wrong? The Story of Gerry Turner and Theresa Nist’s Divorce

The whirlwind romance of Gerry Turner and Theresa Nist, which blossomed on the inaugural season of 'The Golden Bachelor' in August 2023, captivated audiences...