71.7 F
Los Angeles

House impeaches Donald Trump for second time


Subscribe to our Insider

For the second time in his Presidential term, the House of Representatives has voted to impeach Donald Trump.

Trump is being charged with inciting the attack on the US Capitol building on Jan. 6. This vote by the House makes Trump the first president to be impeached twice. The first time the House impeached him was in 2019 over his handling of Ukraine. However, months later in 2020, the Senate acquitted him.

Despite the impeachment today in the House, the Senate will not convene until next week as U.S Senate Majority leader Mitch McConnell won’t call for an emergency meeting to impeach Trump.

There were 10 Republicans who voted to impeach the sitting president.

Liz Cheney (WY) Anthony Gonzalez (OH) Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA) John Katko (NY) Adam Kinzinger (IL) Peter Meijer (MI) Tom Rice (SC) Dan Newhouse (WA) Fred Upton (IL) David Valadao (CA)

McConnell stated the following on his decision to not call for an emergency meeting in the Senate:


More details to come as the story develops. 

Rene' Kennedy
Rene' Kennedyhttps://theballout.com
Managing Editor of The Ball Out.

Subscribe to our Insider

━ more like this

Dining Experience at PepperJax Grill: Great Fast Food

PepperJax Grill restaurant is not your typical fast-food restaurant. It's a culinary oasis where the speed of service rivals any quick-stop eatery, yet the...

Gunman killed on UNLV campus

Wednesday afternoon on the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), three lives were taken and another wounded after a male opened fire on the...

The Unprecedented Decision of the College Football Playoffs: Why Was Undefeated Florida State Left Out?

A chill wind blew across the college football landscape as the College Football Playoff Rankings were announced. An undefeated Florida State, 13-0, was left...

No. 3 Washington Triumphs Over No. 5 Oregon in Epic Pac-12 Championship Showdown

In the thrilling world of this year's college football, there have been some epic games with major implications. And tonight's rematch between the No....

Bittersweet for LSU as Reese returns, Smith injured

For the past four games, No. 7 LSU has been without one of its star players – Angel Reese. While there has been speculation...