71.7 F
Los Angeles

‘Watchmen’ headlines honors at Television Critics Association’s Awards



Subscribe to our Insider

The amazing “Watchmen” from HBO, was the big winner in the 36th Annual Television Critics Association’s Awards Awards (TCA Awards), it was announced today.

The drama was inspired by a legendary graphic novel and with commentary about our real-world racial reckoning, and won four awards, in the 2019-20 TV season. Those awards included Program of the Year and Individual Achievement in Drama, which was awarded to Oscar and Emmy winner Regina King. 

‘Watchmen’ had many viewers to the Tulsa race massacre which also triumphed in the new program and shows, attending to HBO’s overall haul of six TCA Awards. 

The Drama — written and produced by Damon Dindelof — has 26 nominations going into Sunday’s Primetime Emmy Awards.

Other programs recognized included HBO’s “Succession,” ESPN’s “The Last Dance” and Pop TV’s “Schitt’s Creek.” Two entertainment legends, “Jeopardy!” host Alex Trebek and the original “Star Trek” TV series, also received honors.

The Winners were elected by the vote of TCA members, a group of more than 250 TV critics and journalists from the U.S. and Canada. 

Some of the prizes that achieved: 

Individual Achievement In Drama: Regina King (“Watchmen,” HBO)

Individual Achievement In Comedy: Catherine O’Hara (“Schitt’s Creek,” Pop TV)

● Individual Achievement In Drama: Regina King (“Watchmen,” HBO)

● Individual Achievement In Comedy: Catherine O’Hara (“Schitt’s Creek,” Pop TV)

● Outstanding Achievement In News and Information: “The Last Dance” (ESPN)

● Outstanding Achievement In Reality Programming: “Cheer” (Netflix)

● Outstanding Achievement In Youth Programming: “Molly of Denali” (PBS Kids)

● Outstanding Achievement In Sketch/Variety Shows: “A Black Lady Sketch Show” (HBO)

● Outstanding New Program: “Watchmen” (HBO)

● Outstanding Achievement In Movie, Miniseries, Or Special: “Watchmen” (HBO)

● Outstanding Achievement In Drama:“Succession” (HBO)

● Outstanding Achievement In Comedy: “Schitt’s Creek” (Pop TV)

● Program of the Year: “Watchmen” (HBO)

● Career Achievement Honoree: Alex Trebek

● Heritage Award: “Star Trek” (CBS)

Subscribe to our Insider

━ more like this

Dining Experience at PepperJax Grill: Great Fast Food

PepperJax Grill restaurant is not your typical fast-food restaurant. It's a culinary oasis where the speed of service rivals any quick-stop eatery, yet the...

Gunman killed on UNLV campus

Wednesday afternoon on the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), three lives were taken and another wounded after a male opened fire on the...

The Unprecedented Decision of the College Football Playoffs: Why Was Undefeated Florida State Left Out?

A chill wind blew across the college football landscape as the College Football Playoff Rankings were announced. An undefeated Florida State, 13-0, was left...

No. 3 Washington Triumphs Over No. 5 Oregon in Epic Pac-12 Championship Showdown

In the thrilling world of this year's college football, there have been some epic games with major implications. And tonight's rematch between the No....

Bittersweet for LSU as Reese returns, Smith injured

For the past four games, No. 7 LSU has been without one of its star players – Angel Reese. While there has been speculation...