Super Bowl, Patrick Mahomes, NFL, Kansas City
Patrick Mahomes flexes during a game for Kansas City. Getty

The Associated Press NFL All-Pro teams were announced Friday and there was a grand total of 16 new faces selected to the list. That list included Kansas City Chiefs quarterback and potential MVP, Patrick Mahomes.

Kansas City led the league with four players that were selected to the first team. Joining Mahomes was tight end Travis Kelce, wide receiver Tyreek Hill, and right tackle Mitchell Schwartz.

Mahomes threw for 5,097 yards this season and a league-best 50 touchdown passes.

Although the Chiefs dominated in players selected to the first team, it would be Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald, who led the league in sacks this season (20.5), that would be selected unanimously to the first-team.

“That’s surreal,” Donald said. “It’s a blessing. Wow! You see the hard work pay off. A lot of credit to my teammates and my coaches for pushing me and helping me.”

DeAndre Hopkins of the Houston Texans received the most votes out of all offensive players with 46 out of the 50 possible votes. Hopkins caught 115 passes for 1,572 yards and 11 touchdowns this season.

“This is validation,” Hopkins said. “I feel like these people are the people who actually know football, who study football, who have been around football for years, so to be on this list and to be first team is a great feeling. But it makes me want to work harder and continue to be on that list.”

A total of four rookies were also selected to the first team this season, including teammates Quenton nelson and Darius Leonard of the Indianapolis Colts. Dick Butkus and Gale Sayers in 1965 was the last time rookies from the same team were All-Pros. Colts head coach Frank Reich couldn’t be more happier for his two first-year players.

“These are the kind of guys who have the DNA, the makeup of everything that we are looking for,” he said. “All the intangibles, all the character qualities, everything about them.”

“It’s a really hard filter to get through to get marked that way,” he continued. “Both Quenton and Darius had that on their card. So that says something about their maturity and how fast we think they will develop.”

Here’s the full list of your AP All-Pros for the 2018-2019 season.


Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Running Back: Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams

Flex: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs

Wide Receivers: Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans

Left Tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay Packers

Right Tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City Chiefs

Left Guard: Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys

Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles


Edge Rushers: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans; Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears

Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia Eagles

Linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts

Cornerbacks: Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots

Safeties: Eddie Jackson, Chicago Bears; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers

Defensive Back: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens

Punter: Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks

Kick Returner: Andre Roberts, New York Jets

Punt Returner: Tarik Cohen, Chicago Bears

Special Teamer: Adrian Phillips, Los Angeles Chargers


Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys

Flex: Christian McCaffrey, Carolina Panthers

Tight End: George Kittle, San Francisco 49ers

Wide Receivers: Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs

Left Tackle: Duane Brown, Seattle Seahawks, and Terron Armstead, New Orleans Saints

Right Tackle: Ryan Ramczyk, New Orleans Saints

Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns

Right Guard: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens

Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Steelers


Edge Rushers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints; Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings

Interior Linemen: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens; Leighton Vander Esch, Dallas Cowboys

Cornerbacks: Byron Jones, Dallas Cowboys; Xavien Howard, Miami Dolphins

Safeties: Jamal Adams, New York Jets; Harrison Smith, Minnesota Vikings

Defensive Back: Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Aldrick Rosas, New York Giants

Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles Rams

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, New England Patriots

Punt Returner: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers

Special Teamer: Cory Littlejohn, Los Angeles Rams


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here