Schitt's Creek, Emmy Awards
Getty Images

The Academy of Television held its 72nd edition of the Emmy Awards in recognition of the best of the small screen. 

The ceremony, which was held virtually due to the unusual coronavirus pandemic, saw both Succession from HBO, and the Canadian comedy Schitt’s Creek take home multiple awards. Succession took home, Outstanding Drama Series, Oustanding Directing for Drama Series 9Andrij Parekh), Outstanding Writing for Drama Series, and Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series (Jeremy Strong).

The most awarded was Schitt’s Creek, which left with seven Emmys awarded in the comedy category, including best series, best direction (Andrew Cividino and Dan Levy), best actor (Eugene Lev), and best actress (Catherine O ‘Hara). Furthermore, Schitt’s Creek, also was the first-ever Canadian show to win an Emmy in its category.

Another first-time Emmy winner was Zendaya who took home the trophy for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series (Euphoria).

Before the virtual Emmy Awards started, it began with a preview conducted by Ileana Rodríguez and Lety Sahagun, which featured games, interviews, and trivia questions.

Then the awards ceremony began, also known as the “Television Oscars.” Jimmy Kimmel hosted the event, which was held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. 

At the beginning of the ceremony, Jimmy Kimmel’s opening monologue was accompanied by applause and laughter drawn from previous installments from the Staples Center, to simulate the presence of other people. 

The first figure to appear on the scene to accompany the host was Jennifer Aniston, who sprayed the envelope containing the name of the first winner of the night with alcohol, in order to “disinfect” it, and burned it. The actress took a fire extinguisher to put out the fire and thus formally started the awards ceremony.

Despite being held virtually, the humor was clearly included in the Emmys last night.

A full list of nominees and winners can be found below:

Outstanding lead actor in a limited series or TV movie

Jeremy Irons (“Watchmen”) Hugh Jackman (“Bad Education”)Paul Mescal (“Normal People”) Jeremy Pope (“Hollywood”) Mark Ruffalo (“I Know This Much Is True”) *WINNER

Outstanding lead actress in a limited series or TV movie

Cate Blanchett (“Mrs. America”)Shira Haas (“Unorthodox”) Regina King (“Watchmen”) *WINNER Octavia Spencer (“Self Made”) Kerry Washington (“Little Fires Everywhere”)

Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Dylan McDermott (“Hollywood”)Jim Parsons (“Hollywood”)Tituss Burgess (“Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. the Reverend”) Yahya Abdul-Mateen II (“Watchmen”) *WINNER Jovan Adepo (“Watchmen”)Louis Gossett Jr. (“Watchmen”)

Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Holland Taylor (“Hollywood”) UzoAduba (“Mrs. America”) *WINNER Margo Martindale (“Mrs. America”)Tracey Ullman (“Mrs. America”)Toni Collette (“Unbelievable”)Jean Smart (“Watchmen”)

Outstanding lead actor in a comedy series

Anthony Anderson (“Black-ish”)Don Cheadle (“Black Monday”)Ted Danson (“The Good Place”)Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”) Eugene Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”)*WINNERRamy Youssef (“Ramy”)

Outstanding lead actress in a comedy series

Christina Applegate (“Dead to Me”)Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)Linda Cardellini (“Dead to Me”)Catherine O’Hara (“Schitt’s Creek”) *WINNER Issa Rae (“Insecure”)Tracee Ellis Ross (“Black-ish”)

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Andre Braugher (“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”)William Jackson Harper (“The Good Place”)Alan Arkin (“The Kominsky Method”)Sterling K. Brown (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)Tony Shalhoub (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)Mahershala Ali (“Ramy”)Kenan Thompson (“Saturday Night Live”) Dan Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”) *WINNER

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Betty Gilpin (“GLOW”)D’Arcy Carden (“The Good Place”)Yvonne Orji (“Insecure”)Alex Borstein (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”)Marin Hinkle (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”) Kate McKinnon (“Saturday Night Live”)Cecily Strong (“Saturday Night Live”) Annie Murphy (“Schitt’s Creek”) *WINNER

Outstanding lead actor in a drama series

Jason Bateman (“Ozark”)Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”)Steve Carell (“The Morning Show”)Brian Cox (“Succession”)Billy Porter (“Pose”) Jeremy Strong (“Succession”) *WINNER

Outstanding lead actress in a drama series

Jennifer Aniston (“The Morning Show”)Olivia Colman (“The Crown”)Jodie Comer (“Killing Eve”)Laura Linney (“Ozark”)Sandra Oh (“Killing Eve”) Zendaya (“Euphoria”) *WINNER

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Giancarlo Esposito (“Better Call Saul”)Bradley Whitford (“The Handmaid’s Tale”) Billy Crudup (“The Morning Show”) *WINNERMark Duplass (“The Morning Show”)Nicholas Braun (“Succession”)Kieran Culkin (“Succession”)Matthew Macfadyen (“Succession”)Jeffrey Wright (“Westworld”)

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Laura Dern (“Big Little Lies”)Meryl Streep (“Big Little Lies”)Helena Bonham Carter (“The Crown”)Samira Wiley (“The Handmaid’s Tale”)Fiona Shaw (“Killing Eve”) Julia Garner (“Ozark”) *WINNERSarah Snook (“Succession”)Thandie Newton (“Westworld”)

Outstanding reality/competition series

“The Masked Singer””Nailed It”“RuPaul’s Drag Race” *WINNER “Top Chef””The Voice”

Outstanding variety talk series

“Daily Show with Trevor Noah” “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee””Jimmy Kimmel Live””Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” *WINNER“Late Show with Stephen Colbert”

Outstanding limited Series

“Little Fires Everywhere””Mrs. America””Unbelievable””Unorthodox””Watchmen” *WINNER

Outstanding comedy series

“Curb Your Enthusiasm””Dead to Me””The Good Place””Insecure””The Kominsky Method””The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”“Schitt’s Creek” *WINNER“What We Do in the Shadows”

Outstanding drama series

“Better Call Saul””The Crown””The Handmaid’s Tale””Killing Eve””The Mandalorian””Ozark””Stranger Things””Succession” *WINNER


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here